The Authorised Push Payments Scams Steering Group is led by an independent chair appointed by, and directly accountable to, the Payment Systems Regulator.

Members of the Steering Group are appointed by the Chair and include an equal number of representatives of payment service providers and consumers – those key stakeholder groups that will be impacted by the introduction of the code.

Attending Steering Group meetings are observers from regulators, government and law enforcement.

UK Finance is the secretariat for the Steering Group.

Terms of Reference for Endorsement at 27 April meeting

Steering Group Members

Ruth Evans – Independent Chair of the Steering Group
Samantha White – Barclays
Brian Dilley – Lloyds Banking Group
Benjamin Trim – HSBC
Mark Tingey – Metro Bank
Alasdair Macfarlane – Royal Bank of Scotland
Judith Crawford – Electronic Money Association
Alastair Reed – Which?
Lucy Malenczuk – Age UK
Wayne Stevens – Victim Support
Sian Williams – Toynbee Hall
Faith Reynolds – Independent
Dominic Lindley – Independent


Kathryn Hardy – Payment Systems Regulator
Laura Mountford – HM Treasury
Alix Newbold – City of London Police
Ross Studholme – Financial Conduct Authority
Richard West – Financial Ombudsman Service
Jai Krishnan – Home Office
Melissa Dring – National Trading Standards


Katy Worobec – UK Finance

Ruth Evans – Independent Chair of the Steering Group

Ruth Evans is the Chair of the Independent Parliamentary Standards Authority, a Non-executive Director of the Serious Fraud Office and Chairs the Push Payments Scams Steering Group. She also Chaired the Payments Strategy Forum until January 2018, established by the Payments Systems Regulator to bring together the payments industry and representatives of all those that use payment services to deliver a collaborative Strategy for competition and innovation.

Ruth has a thirty-five year track record representing the consumer and public interest across a wide range of industries, serving as Chair and Deputy Chair of several regulatory boards (Authority for Television on Demand, Bar Standards Board, Ofcom Consumer Panel and the General Medical Council’s Standards Committee); as Chair of two Independent Inquiries (the Brompton & Harefield Inquiries into Baby Deaths, and the Independent Inquiry into Drug Testing at Work); as NED of four financial services businesses; and leading three charities. Ruth also served as CEO and Accounting Officer of a NDPB, the National Consumer Council, for 7 years.

Alongside her work representing the public and consumer interest, Ruth has a background in governance, quality assurance, diversity, communications and risk, and has applied this knowledge in a range of non-executive directorships including the Independent Police Complaints Commission, the National Audit Office, Queens Counsel Appointments Panel and Phonepay Plus. She has also chaired the Remuneration Committees of the IPCC, the NAO and CPP Group.

Ruth’s commercial experience includes serving as Senior Independent Director of CPP Group, and as a Non-Executive Director with the Nationwide Building Society and with Liverpool Victoria Group. She also was on the Advisory Board of ING UK.

Ruth began her professional life in charities, volunteering for Liberty after graduation before being appointed at 22 as the first Director to a newly established coalition of charities, medical bodies and disability agencies, the Maternity Alliance. Following that Ruth joined Mind as Deputy Director, then Acting Director, before taking over as Chief Executive of War on Want where, upon arrival, she discovered the charity was insolvent, and took it into receivership. From there she went on to run the National Consumer Council for three terms of office.

Ruth has a daughter aged 21 and lives in London.